Author Topic: Home recording noob  (Read 7491 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2010, 04:42:06 PM »
^ See my above post on why it takes so long to get an update.

There is certainly some weight in the 'no care for home users' comment, but the biggest problem I have with PT is its incestuous nature, where certain elements of it only work with other same-company components (plugins, hardware, etc) In this modern era nobody should have to put up with that crap from developers. This is partly why many pro's and amateurs have started switching over (or have done long ago)

That, and MIDI on any version of PT is horrible to work with, even if its a lot better now than what it was...

For everything else though, its generally a simple, reliable program. I suggest if anyone is looking to run heaps of plugins, or work a lot with MIDI, either go a full HD system, or look elsewhere.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #26 on: April 26, 2010, 06:41:00 PM »
Recording software is not terribly complicated compared to other forms of software and yet other developers don't take so long to update their users. Look at premier it is a much more complicated program than PT and yet adobe has a version ready for new versions of windows on launch date, They also run in 64bit OS's and multithread. You could argue that Digidesign is a smaller company than adobe, but in reality Digidesigns are making huge money from PT. They are the leader in recording simply because they were the industry standard and they only have one program to worry about, while adobe has many.

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #27 on: April 26, 2010, 11:23:24 PM »
True, and I brought that point up with Digidesign a few months ago, but to be fair you have to also consider the liability you potentially face being such a popular standard and running the risk of losing one-take opportunities and massive costs in down-time if your product fails on professionals' systems.

Many pros use protools not just because its the 'standard', but because it has been proven to be reliable (referring mostly to the real stuff, HD etc) Digi put a great deal of time and care into making sure the exact details are known about every facet of what they are creating. This is peace of mind for the end user, even if it is a little slow to be revised. :)

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2010, 12:47:18 AM »
True, and I brought that point up with Digidesign a few months ago, but to be fair you have to also consider the liability you potentially face being such a popular standard and running the risk of losing one-take opportunities and massive costs in down-time if your product fails on professionals' systems.

Many pros use protools not just because its the 'standard', but because it has been proven to be reliable (referring mostly to the real stuff, HD etc) Digi put a great deal of time and care into making sure the exact details are known about every facet of what they are creating. This is peace of mind for the end user, even if it is a little slow to be revised. :)

naaah sorry Damo that doesn't wash with me, tell a graphic designer that they have to buy a specific set up and then heavily tweak their system to run photoshop and you will get laughed at. It is the Standard program used and Adobe would not want to annoy their client?le by giving the wrong info, but they don't! however the still manage to come out with software that is up to date, runs on all the newest OSs and takes advantage of all the latest hardware advancements. They have had 64bit support for ages, the latest version CS5 doesn't even run on 32bit anymore! They have also used GPU acceleration for years, Digidesigns just needs to get their shit together and take a page out of adobe's book. At the end of the day people will start voting with their wallets...

Offline Manny

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 3119
  • Reputation: 13
  • Gender: Male
  • Heavy Metal is the Law
    • View Profile
    • EVOLUTION MACHINE
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #29 on: April 27, 2010, 10:20:10 AM »
They have had 64bit support for ages, the latest version CS5 doesn't even run on 32bit anymore!
I don't think this is correct.  CS5 will still run on a Pentium 4 with Windows XP according to their system requirements.
Evolution Machine                      Noisy Pixels Photography

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #30 on: April 27, 2010, 11:39:32 AM »
Agreed. Which is why I now use Reaper.

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #31 on: April 27, 2010, 11:42:19 AM »

JESUS CHRIST

how much ram does reaper suck   :o

might need to get more ram  :hmm:


How much you got & what latency are you running etc

Offline Merlok

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 613
  • Reputation: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep the metal faith alive!! - Chuck Schuldiner
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #32 on: April 27, 2010, 11:44:32 AM »


im just learning about latencys atm so 32 using ASIO4all

and ive got 2 gig in my comp atm

gonna get up it to 4 gig see if that helps

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #33 on: April 27, 2010, 02:50:30 PM »
They have had 64bit support for ages, the latest version CS5 doesn't even run on 32bit anymore!
I don't think this is correct.  CS5 will still run on a Pentium 4 with Windows XP according to their system requirements.

its actually a pimped version of CS4 they included in the CS5 package so people with 32bit OSs could still run it.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #34 on: April 28, 2010, 10:46:56 PM »
After all the PT discussion this week i may have just blown a preamp in my mbox... looks like i may be coming in to see you Damo   :'(

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #35 on: April 28, 2010, 11:22:02 PM »
Ah see? You upset it... :)

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #36 on: April 29, 2010, 12:03:48 AM »
yep disturbance in the force. Have you been on the DUC boards lately, looks like some disgruntled OT users may be taking a class action against Digi for hearing damage due to white noise blasts.

Offline cyanide_christ

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
  • Reputation: -7
  • Gender: Male
  • Recording, engineering, mixing services available!
    • View Profile
    • Chaos Divine official web page
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #37 on: April 29, 2010, 12:08:22 AM »
And speaker damage. Lesson being - DON'T UPGRADE TO 8.0.3 IF YOU ARE USING XP!

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #38 on: April 29, 2010, 12:31:19 PM »
 :) This makes me a happy REAPER user. sad to hear of costly gear breaking but glad it aint mine. Loud white noise blasts through my Opals would be deadly.  :o To me

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #39 on: April 29, 2010, 06:07:42 PM »
Reaper looks good and 64bit!

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #40 on: April 29, 2010, 10:06:12 PM »
And speaker damage. Lesson being - DON'T UPGRADE TO 8.0.3 IF YOU ARE USING XP!

Oh shit...


Cant say Ive had a problem though.

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #41 on: April 29, 2010, 11:32:35 PM »
Yea Reaper has a 64bit version. Pretty sweet aye.

Offline Manny

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 3119
  • Reputation: 13
  • Gender: Male
  • Heavy Metal is the Law
    • View Profile
    • EVOLUTION MACHINE
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #42 on: April 30, 2010, 03:33:18 PM »
They have had 64bit support for ages, the latest version CS5 doesn't even run on 32bit anymore!
I don't think this is correct.  CS5 will still run on a Pentium 4 with Windows XP according to their system requirements.

its actually a pimped version of CS4 they included in the CS5 package so people with 32bit OSs could still run it.
Bit off-topic, but I'm pretty sure that only Adobe Premier CS5 and After Effects CS5 are 64-bit.
Evolution Machine                      Noisy Pixels Photography

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #43 on: April 30, 2010, 04:07:05 PM »
yep your right, my opinion still stands though, Premier is a far more complex program in any case.

Offline Sheriff Cunt

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
  • Reputation: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Lok'tar ogar!
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #44 on: May 04, 2010, 09:09:17 PM »
Hey guys,

I've decided i want to get in on this home recording caper but i have no idea where to start, any help would be appreciated.

Downloaded Reaper so dont bother plugging it too hard nosaj and cdtbeast

Go buy the book "Mixing with your mind" by Paul Stavrou, it will be perfect for where you are @ right now.
I have lent my acoustics book to VAL at the moment.  F. Alton Everest Master Handbook of Acoustics. It is awesome but will turn your brain to mush hahahaha just ask VAL

Where might i find said book ?
I give my flesh and blood freely to the Warchief. I am the instrument of my Warchief's desire. I am a weapon of my Warchief's command.

From this moment until the end of days I live and die - For the Horde!

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #45 on: May 05, 2010, 02:09:27 AM »
I bought mine online.
Just google Mixing with your mind. The front cover is a xray style  pic of a human head wearing headphones.
Also the Australian magazine Audio Technology is great, you can order the book through there. Check out their website, Stav has a regular column in it called Stavs word.

Offline Sheriff Cunt

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
  • Reputation: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Lok'tar ogar!
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #46 on: May 05, 2010, 05:13:38 PM »
Fcuk $80 for a book? Might have to wait til next pay.
I give my flesh and blood freely to the Warchief. I am the instrument of my Warchief's desire. I am a weapon of my Warchief's command.

From this moment until the end of days I live and die - For the Horde!

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #47 on: May 05, 2010, 10:08:31 PM »
It is worth EVERY cent my friend. Trust me.

Offline Rotten

  • WF Major
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
  • Reputation: 26
  • Jebem ti boga
    • View Profile
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #48 on: May 08, 2010, 07:34:19 PM »
Ill return your book simon sorry for the delay..
ive down loaded reaper and dfh2.do i need ez drummer to use this in order to make drum maps?
i am utterly useless on this matter but once i can get it going ill be a happy chappy.

And also what are some decent monitors to get for a small room? budget about $700..
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 07:49:21 PM by Rotten »

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Home recording noob
« Reply #49 on: May 09, 2010, 10:42:56 PM »
$700 won't get you much but there will be something within that range. I haven't looked into the smaller stuff in ages.
You can sometimes find some decent monitors in cashies second hand for that price though.
I will keep my eyes out for ya buddy.  ;)
I will have to catch up with ya soon in regards to the Reaper tutorials.
As drum programs go, there are people here with more knowledge than me on this issue. Live drums are more my thing.