Author Topic: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores  (Read 5276 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« on: April 26, 2010, 12:03:22 PM »
Hi all, looking for an uber nerd to help me in English choose a processor for my new rig. The machine will be mainly used as a protools and adobe premier rig. I'm looking at the i5 series CPU's but am tossing up on getting the i5-750 or the 661. Both processors are around the same price but the, 750 has 4 cores, larger cache. The 661 has a much faster clock speed and is of the new 32 nm size, but is only a dual core.

i5-750
- Number of Cores: 4 (Quad)
- Number of Threads: 4
- Clock Speed: 2.66 Ghz
- Max Turbo: 3.20 Ghz
- Smart Cache: 8 MB
- Bus/Core Ratio: 20
- DMI Speed: 2.5 GT/s
- Instruction: 64 Bit
- NM Process: 45
- Max TDP: 95 Watt

or the 661

- Number of Cores: 2 (Dual)
- Number of Threads: 4
- Clock Speed: 3.33 Ghz
- Max Turbo: 3.60 Ghz
- Smart Cache: 4 MB
- Bus/Core Ratio: 25
- DMI Speed: 2.5 GT/s
- Instruction: 64 Bit
- NM Process: 32
- Max TDP: 87 Watt
- Integrated HD Graphics (with compatible motherboards)

Offline cyanide_christ

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
  • Reputation: -7
  • Gender: Male
  • Recording, engineering, mixing services available!
    • View Profile
    • Chaos Divine official web page
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 01:05:51 PM »
I think you'll find it doesn't make much difference if one is half a Ghz faster than the other. The RAM is more important to Pro Tools than the CPU speed. Apparently these hyperthreaded CPUs are completely different and the speed isn't as relevant as previous CPUs anyway.

My CPU was overclocked from 3Ghz to 3.25Ghz and due to some issues I had to reset it back to 3Ghz and there was no difference in the performance. I know it's only a quarter of a Ghz but still, it didn't seem to make a single bit of difference.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2010, 02:16:57 PM »
Thanks coont, did you try running PT8 in XP mode before you went dual boot?

Offline cyanide_christ

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
  • Reputation: -7
  • Gender: Male
  • Recording, engineering, mixing services available!
    • View Profile
    • Chaos Divine official web page
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 02:27:51 PM »
Nah, couldn't be fucked. It runs really well now that it is the only thing I have installed in XP so I'm happy. I'm just going to wait for 8.0.4.

Offline DamoESP

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 2568
  • Reputation: -123
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2010, 05:27:41 PM »
I can tell you now as someone that actually understands and knows this shit......go the Quad core. Although Protools doesn't Multithread (In English......written to be used by and fully take advantage of a multiple core processor by assigning different processes to a different core) you will see a greater response from the quad core than the dual core. A Quad-Core will always preform better than a Dual-core with Hyperthreading...always.

Also the larger cache will greatly reduce wait times for CPU instructions, which will increase the overall speed of your PC (and Protools). Also, yes extra RAM will help, but if you've got a 32-bit Windows operating system, you can only use 3.5gb anyway as that is all that 32bit Windos OS can address. 64 bit Windows OS's can address more RAM, but they are still "unsupported" by Protools...though plenty of people have got it working fine.

End of the day, Quad core and 64bit OS are the future, its not long till AMD release their 6-core processors anyway and this argument will be null and void. But if you are going to be using this for Protools and Adobe Premier....Quad-Core and 32 bit OS is the way to go...not only will they run great, your general PC usage will be relativly quicker than a Dual-Core PC...though like I said, 64bit OS is fine if you can get Pro Tools to work on it, which many people have (plus its not long until Digidesign wake up to themselves and release a new version of PT that supports 64 bit).
« Last Edit: April 26, 2010, 05:33:02 PM by DamoESP »
Check out our band, Arkarion:
http://www.arkarion.com

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2010, 06:35:07 PM »
Cheers guys will be going the quad i think. Will get Windows 7 professional 64bit and try and run PT in the XP mode, if that doesnt work i will try duel boot with XP until Digidesigns gets there shit together and release PT 64 bit.

Offline ecentrix

  • WF Major
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
  • Reputation: -33
  • Gender: Male
  • Drummer for Labyrinth
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 06:43:00 PM »
Quad core mate, Dual core is great for games .

Quad core is what you want for your application man.
What we do in our lives echoes in eternity

Offline DamoESP

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 2568
  • Reputation: -123
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2010, 06:52:51 PM »
Quad core mate, Dual core is great for games .

Lol...what are you on about??? hahaha...come on buddy...you have no idea.
Check out our band, Arkarion:
http://www.arkarion.com

Offline ecentrix

  • WF Major
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
  • Reputation: -33
  • Gender: Male
  • Drummer for Labyrinth
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2010, 08:27:11 PM »
Hahahahah, of course i know what i am on about man. Computers are my lief.

:D
What we do in our lives echoes in eternity

Offline DamoESP

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 2568
  • Reputation: -123
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2010, 08:40:54 PM »
Hahahahah, of course i know what i am on about man. Computers are my lief.

:D

lol so you say :P
Check out our band, Arkarion:
http://www.arkarion.com

Offline nihilist

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 7804
  • Reputation: 38
  • Gender: Male
  • WHORE: THE OTHER WHITE MEAT.
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2010, 10:37:05 PM »
How many cores do I need not to give a shit about your nerdy argument?
My hands are choking, my knife is broken.
An orgasm is what I need.
Your blood is spilling, the sight is thrilling.
To cum I need to see you bleed.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2010, 11:22:09 PM »
you like grindcore

Offline nihilist

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 7804
  • Reputation: 38
  • Gender: Male
  • WHORE: THE OTHER WHITE MEAT.
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2010, 11:50:37 PM »
So... one?
My hands are choking, my knife is broken.
An orgasm is what I need.
Your blood is spilling, the sight is thrilling.
To cum I need to see you bleed.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2010, 12:48:00 AM »

Offline Ingasm

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 2225
  • Reputation: -10
  • Gender: Male
  • Who's that fluffy bundle of love?
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2010, 08:12:49 AM »
All of you, go outside and play

Offline Nosaj

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 4389
  • Reputation: -56
  • Gender: Male
  • Destroyer of Worlds!
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2010, 02:33:49 PM »
Why not have both?
So what kind of Metal classification would You give to CuntScrape?

I would say Thush Metal.

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2010, 03:36:01 PM »
Why not have both?

give me some money

Offline Nosaj

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 4389
  • Reputation: -56
  • Gender: Male
  • Destroyer of Worlds!
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2010, 10:30:22 PM »
I'm in the same boat.
So what kind of Metal classification would You give to CuntScrape?

I would say Thush Metal.

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2010, 07:58:55 AM »
Go the quad core, get yourself a nice set of low latency RAM - and be careful of the motherboard you purchase if you're replacing your current one.

Im about to upgrade my system and have decided this time on i7 930 and the Gigabyte X58A-UD3R. After reading all the issues people have been having with PT and the VIA firewire chipset, its good to know that the Gigabyte board uses a Texas Instruments Firewire controller onboard. Of course, you could just buy a firewire card separately if you're running via firewire, but why bother?

Im also liking the triple-slot DDR3 memory :)

Offline cdtBEAST

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1175
  • Reputation: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • sounds like a bowl of fuck
    • View Profile
    • www.combineddeathtoll.com
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #19 on: June 01, 2010, 11:27:10 AM »
Excellent advice Damo.
I did my research to make sure the pc I was getting had the right specs to match my software & my soundcard. Took a bit of fucking around but was well worth it.
Once I built it around those specs it has been bullet proof.
I know guys with later more powerful systems that have nothing but problems & 9 times out of 10 it is due to incompatibility issues.

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2010, 05:12:31 PM »
Because Protools governs some of your core processes in order to gain stability and work reliably, the platform has always been picky about what it works with.

I have spoken to literally HUNDREDS of people who have bought new computers expecting it to just 'work' - Pity. :)

I have been reading some documentation lately around the whole Mac vs PC and LE vs HD thing - and the stats are pretty crazy. Its certainly not a one-horse race like it used to be. Mac's and PCs are performing equally well (win7 64bit), and some LE systems are even outperforming HD systems on many tasks. CRAZY.

It puts the whole question of 'what do I buy' right up into the air.

The trick is to get the right hardware, and run your system dedicated to music production - Don't even install an internet connection if possible.

Offline Nosaj

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 4389
  • Reputation: -56
  • Gender: Male
  • Destroyer of Worlds!
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2010, 01:32:59 AM »
That could be my problem. I use my Pc for everything. sO I guess I need to get another Pc for the music stuff then?
So what kind of Metal classification would You give to CuntScrape?

I would say Thush Metal.

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2010, 08:04:21 AM »
...That would help.
And build it yourself - Its really good to know whats going in it. Pre-built PC's from stores usually have 'throwaway' components in them that the store is trying to move.

Offline Archangel

  • WF Major
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Reputation: -8
  • Gender: Male
  • Invite the Darkside In....
    • View Profile
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2010, 11:55:08 PM »
but will it run Crysis?   :rofl:
Conquest is made from the ashes of ones enemies...

Offline Metallifux

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Reputation: -45
  • Gender: Male
  • Cursh your enemies, see them driven before you
    • View Profile
    • chaos divine
Re: Clock Speed Vs. Multi-Cores
« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2010, 02:15:08 PM »
That could be my problem. I use my Pc for everything. sO I guess I need to get another Pc for the music stuff then?

I have a bunch of PC's half built if you want one let me know