Author Topic: Buying a new computer for audio (MAC?)  (Read 1199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline goat

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Reputation: 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Buying a new computer for audio (MAC?)
« on: September 04, 2010, 10:21:09 AM »
Im wanting a new computer for audio production.
Im using an iMAC right now with 2duo core, 4 gig ram at 2hz.

It doesnt seems to be enough power wise. Iits cracking a wobbly under a low latency 192 or 4.35ms input.
Which is fair enough, im also running SD2, 4 POD farm tracks, symphoinc choirs vst and a bass POD farm track, while expecting the compy to run on this low latency while recording vocals on another POD track.

Unless there is anything i can do to upgrage this thing im wanting another more powerful compy, but i dont wanna rush into it and run into this same problem again.

Can i get some opinions on what is the best way to go here + take a look at this on ebay for me and tell me what you think?
I guess i dont have to go Mac but this is what im used to.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Apple-Mac-Pro-Quad-Xeon-64-Bit-Desktop-/130425977040?pt=AU_Computers_Apple_Desktops&hash=item1e5dfe78d0

Cheers.

Offline Nosaj

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 4389
  • Reputation: -56
  • Gender: Male
  • Destroyer of Worlds!
    • View Profile
Re: Buying a new computer for audio (MAC?)
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2010, 02:08:59 PM »
I'm not sure if You can install a second hard drive into Macs. But if You can, that could be worth a try. Then use the 2nd drive to save all Your work in. More ram might help too. Also Quad core would be better than the dual core. See this thread for more info. http://www.wf.com.au/forum/index.php?topic=5797.0

I think I have the same problem You do. I know how to fix it but theres not much I can do with finances.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2010, 02:11:06 PM by Nosaj »
So what kind of Metal classification would You give to CuntScrape?

I would say Thush Metal.

Offline TomC

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Reputation: -108
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • facebook
Re: Buying a new computer for audio (MAC?)
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2010, 02:26:06 PM »
macs being greater than PCs at audio is a myth manufactured by apple to get you to buy their shitty products.

Offline Damo

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • Reputation: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Buying a new computer for audio (MAC?)
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2010, 05:44:13 PM »
Actually, for a long time, they were better, but pc components are certainly on par these days.
Also, software wise, I rate Logic as better than Protools for many reasons, especially MIDI - but of course thats strictly a Mac program.

That said, the new i7 rig Im building will be a monster for audio.

Offline goat

  • WF Colonel
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Reputation: 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Buying a new computer for audio (MAC?)
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2010, 01:07:00 AM »
ok not that i wanna get into a debate about it but,
If, a Mac can run windows, does that mean a pc that can run leopard is the same as a mac?